Lynda Renham: My Favourite On-Screen Proposal

To celebrate the launch of Millie and the American Proposal on Amazon, I’ve asked authors and bloggers to talk proposals. Today, it’s author Lynda Renham’s turn to tell us about her favourite on-screen proposal.  

I love proposals and I have many that I like from films, books and of course real life. But I think my favourite all time proposal is from the film ‘Mickey Blue Eyes’

The film is a great take on ‘The Godfather’ and if you haven’t seen it, you really should. It is so funny.

Hugh grant plays Michael and at the beginning of the film you hear how he has planned a special dinner for his girlfriend. He plans to propose. They arrive at the Chinese and you see Michael asking a favour of the waitress.

The waitress later comes over and gives them their fortune cookies. Michael eats his and encourages Gina to eat hers but she doesn’t want it.

‘Eat cookie,’ says the waitress.

‘I don’t want to,’ Gina replies.

This goes on for a while and Michael suggests eating the cookie to keep the waitress happy.

‘I don’t feel like taking orders from a waitress,’ snaps Gina.

‘I owner not waitress, eat cookie,’ says the owner.

Gina gets cross and Michael tries to make her open the fortune cookie.

‘Eat fucking cookie,’ cries owner with all the staff milling around them. Just as she opens the cookie a woman at the opposite table shouts.

‘Oh yes, yes, Jeremy.’

Michael jumps up realising the cookie has gone to the wrong couple. He dashes over, grabs the ring hidden in the cookie and hands them a fortune, apologising profusely. He hands the ring to Gina.

‘You should have got this,’ he tells her. ‘Gina will you marry me?’

Gina begins to cry.

‘I don’t know what to say,’ she hiccups.

‘Well I thought what she just said was rather good,’ he says pointing to the girl who had the cookie with the ring in it. ‘Obviously without the Jeremy bit.’

Gina runs out crying and the other woman is crying. It is one of the funniest proposals in a film I have seen. Obviously my quoting isn’t accurate but as close as I can remember.

image001Lynda’s a romantic comedy author – her latest book ‘The Dogs Bollocks’ is on Amazon and her new book ‘It Had To Be You’ is due for release 14th March. To Find out more about Lynda and her books:

http://www.renham.co.uk

Twitter: @lyndarenham

Thanks Lynda – I remember laughing a lot at that scene when I saw that film too! 

Leave a Reply

