Laura Lovelock: My Dream Proposal

To celebrate the launch of Millie and the American Proposal on Amazon, I’ve asked authors and bloggers to talk proposals. Today, it’s the turn of blogger Laura Lovelock from She Likes to Read to tell us about her dream proposal. 

Every girl dreams of how, when and who is going to ask them that –very- special question and as I’ve grown up, many different people have asked me (in my imagination). Some of those people have been long-suffering boyfriends, others have been the men I reaaaaaally fancied and some were obviously Benedict Cumberbatch, Tom Daley and Jude Law. 

Benedict-in-Screen-Magazine-04-2013-benedict-cumberbatch-33870098-1280-1549[1]Unfortunately I am yet to experience such a question in the ‘real’ world and thus am left to dream about what could be with Mr Cumberbatch. I could be Mrs Laura Cumberbatch. Does that have a ring to it? I could sign everything LB and my initials would be LAB which is almost an ode to Sherlock. 

See, it’s meant to be. 

We could have the world’s most romantic proposal like –that- one from Four Weddings & A Funeral in the pouring rain, I’d crack out the old ‘Is it still raining? I hadn’t noticed’ line and Benedict could kiss me lingeringly whilst a frantically romantic piece of music plays over the top. He’d get down on one knee and kneel on the wet pavement whilst holding out a turquoise box before asking me to make him the happiest man alive. I, of course, would act nonchalant and totally cool before conceding that yes, I bloody well would marry him. He would slide the perfectly sized ring (obviously) onto my ring finger and would then run a hand through his gorgeous locks, placing his beautiful lips onto mine and giving me a right good kiss. 

Then he’d sweep me up into his arms (in this dream world I’m as light as a feather) and he would carry me into his grand house that would just happen to be down the road. He’d then say, in his totally charming and mouth-watering British accent, ‘Laura, I love you.’ It would be long and drawn out and every millisecond of his voice speaking my name will make me go all funny and I’ll fall into his arms where I’ll stay FOREVER. 

Too fantastical? Hmm maybe, but a girl can dream, right?

Laura blogs over on She Likes to Read –  Find out more:

twitter: @_shelovestoread

http://www.shelovestoread.weebly.com

Ooh, thanks Laura. Swoon. Tomorrow it’s the turn of author Georgina Troy. 

Leave a Reply

