Nicky Wells: You want to marry me? What, now? Why?

To celebrate the launch of Millie and the American Proposal on Amazon, I’ve asked authors and bloggers to talk proposals. Today, it’s the turn of author Nicky Wells to tell us about her real-life proposal. What better story for Valentine’s Day.

NickyWells_AuthorPhotoJon and I had been dating for a small eternity, and yet he stubbornly refused to propose. The months passed, and I began to think that he wouldn’t ever propose. That was fine by me too. I didn’t need a ring to signify his undying love. We’d bought a flat together, after all. What could be more binding than a mortgage?

We’d been in our flat for a month when we started tiling the kitchen floor. I grew tired and bored of doing DIY by mid-afternoon. Jon suggested dinner out as a reward, but I didn’t particularly fancy it. Yet he grew strangely pushy on this matter and wouldn’t let it go. So, rather grudgingly, I agreed to go out.

On the way to the Tube, Jon had to tie his shoe laces about ten times. He’d buttoned up his shirt wrong. He kept fidgeting. It was most unusual. “It’s just… well, it’s late,” he tried to explain. “I’m worried the restaurant will be too busy.”

Hm. I didn’t buy it, but I didn’t think much of it either.

So we got to our favourite Tapas bar in Clapham and were given a table after a short wait. We ordered food. And then, halfway through, he put this box on the table. Gulp.

“Open it,” he said, fidgeting some more.

My heart beat like a hammer. Obediently, I opened the box and… what? What was that blue thing? A brooch?

I looked at him, confused, and just a tad disappointed.

He smiled. “Take it out.”

I took ‘it’ out and it turned out to be a ring. A blue plastic ring.

“Will you marry me?”

OMG OMG OMG. I opened my mouth to say yes, and out came: “Um. Well. Why now?”

What?

To his credit, he didn’t miss a beat. He knew me too well, even then. He simply smiled and explained. “Because the time’s right, and I love you.”

Awwww. Well, of course I said yes.

PS. The plastic ring turned out to be Lalique crystal. Duh me! I’m so clueless when it comes to jewellery and accessories. We still laugh about this even today and, of course, I still have the blue ring. It was a stand-in proposal ring so that I could go and have a look at a shortlist of ‘proper’ rings with Jon together and pick the one I liked best. Love him!

Nicky Wells, is the ultimate rock chick author. Signed to US Publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, she writes Romance That Rocks Your World, featuring the rock star and the girl next door.

Nicky’s books: Sophie’s Turn | Sophie’s Run | Sophie’s Encore | Spirits of Christmas

Find out more about Nicky: Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest

Ah, thanks Nicky, what a lovely story! On Monday author and blogger Jenni Joyce tells us about her proposal.

4 thoughts on “Nicky Wells: You want to marry me? What, now? Why?

Leave a Reply

